Staff Favorites 2014

Staff Pick Logo
All the Light We Cannot See Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781476746586
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scribner Book Company - May 6th, 2014

This is an exceptional story of France during the Nazi occupation, seen through the eyes of a young blind girl. With superb plotting and compelling characters, this is hands down my favorite read for 2014.

~ Susan, Tim, John


Staff Pick Logo
Ancillary Justice Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780316246620
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Orbit - October 1st, 2013

Innovative, engrossing, and a great story, this is one of the finest science fiction novels I've read in years. ~ Tim


Cinnamon and Gunpowder Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781250050182
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Picador USA - June 3rd, 2014

When my fellow bookseller, Andrew, told me to read this book, I was a little skeptical at first. I don't usually read about pirates, but I do love to read about food and this turned out to be a winner! Full of action and romance and unusual food! ~ Alison (also recommended by Andrew)


Staff Pick Logo
The Cold Cold Ground: A Detective Sean Duffy Novel Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9781616147167
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Seventh Street Books - November 13th, 2012

This is the first volume of a mystery trilogy taking place in Belfast during The Troubles. The central character—a Catholic, college-educated Detective Inspector in the Royal Ulster Constabulary—is an enigma to his colleagues. His first big case is a highly political string of murders that rattles the Ulster mafia and challenges the prevailing religious and social morés of both Ian Paisley and the Pope. A compelling, provocative read! ~ Susan


Staff Pick Logo
Gemini Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781451627930
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Simon & Schuster - March 4th, 2014

Carol Cassella has done it again! I could not put down this taut medical mystery with bittersweet love stories at the core. When a Jane Doe hit-and-run victim, found by the side of the road on the Olympic Peninsula, is flown to a Seattle hospital after suffering a stroke in surgery, ICU physician Charlotte tries to figure out what went wrong, and why no one has come forward to claim the gravely injured woman. Her efforts are twinned with the back story, having a twist, on how the woman ended up there. The resolution, both sad and hopeful, felt just right. Bravo! ~ Victoria


Staff Pick Logo
The Girl Who Saved the King of Sweden Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9780062329127
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Ecco Press - April 29th, 2014

Jonasson, who delighted us with The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared, gives us another glorious romp. It’s a gallop through the life of Nombeko Mayeki—a fourteen-year-old latrine cleaner in Soweto, South Africa—who, because of her intelligence and her agile wit, ends up in Sweden with an unregistered nuclear missile, a twin who doesn’t officially exist, his brother, an idiot, and a sampling of weird and incompetent characters. As with its predecessor, this novel is wickedly absurd. ~ Ann


Staff Pick Logo
The Goldfinch Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780316055437
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little Brown and Company - October 22nd, 2013

As this brilliant, Pulitzer Prize-winning novel opens, young Theo survives a New York City terrorist attack that kills his mother and leaves him tormented. In the next few years he journeys from the upper echelons of New York society to the suburbs of Las Vegas, and finally to Amsterdam. As he tries to adapt to each new situation, all the while shielding a secret from the day of the attack, the plot centers on his trauma, longing and regret. A frantic and tense climax creates a path of redemption for Theo. Unforgettable characters, great attention to detail, exquisite writing, and a grand scope combine to make this a rare literary treat. ~ Jane


Staff Pick Logo
Greenglass House Cover Image
By Kate Milford, Jaime Zollars (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780544052703
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Clarion Books - August 26th, 2014

In this old-fashioned mystery set in a creaky old house at the top of a steep hill, Milo and his family are settling in for a quiet Christmas when unexpected guests start arriving at their smuggler’s inn. Milo solves the puzzle with the help of his new friend, Meddy, and her role-playing game which lets him use detective skills he didn’t even know he had. Perfect for fans of The Mysterious Benedict Society! Ages 10-13. ~ Alison


Staff Pick Logo
His Majesty's Dragon Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780345481283
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Del Rey Books - March 28th, 2006

This is the first book in a magnificent fantasy series, which takes place during the Napoleonic Wars, with the key exception that dragons have been a part of society for a long time. A British Naval captain accidentally captures a dragon egg. Once born, the dragon will accept no one else, and from there a grand adventure begins. Novik has captured the feel of 19th century literature without the denseness, and the sheer amount of thought she’s put into her altered history is both evident and amazing. It’s a thoroughly researched and wholly entertaining series. ~ Jo


Staff Pick Logo
I'll Give You the Sun Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780803734968
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dial Books - September 16th, 2014

The incredible, sometimes heartbreaking story of Noah and Jude, who are twins, is told in alternating voices with powerful, emotional language and multiple plot twists and turns. This one will stay with me for a long time. Amazing! Ages 14 & up. ~ Alison (Also recommended by Victoria)


Staff Pick Logo
If Not for This Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781597095389
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Red Hen Press - August 5th, 2014

Winner of the Pacific Northwest Booksellers Award, this is an utterly absorbing, heartbreaking, and beautiful novel. ~ Tim


Staff Pick Logo
A Man Called Ove Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781476738017
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atria Books - July 15th, 2014

ruin the story. Ove is a curmudgeon and a grump whose life is suddenly interrupted by boisterous new neighbors: Pregnant Parveneh and her husband Patrick who, Ove notes, can’t even back up a trailer successfully. Ove is cantankerous. He has no patience with imperfection. He snaps at pleasantries. He rages against those who ignore the rules. And he’s an absolute delight. This is my favorite novel so far this year. ~ Ann


Staff Pick Logo
The Martian Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780553418026
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Broadway Books - October 28th, 2014

The first Mars landing has been aborted and all but one person has made it off the planet. Mark Watney is alone on Mars. It’s dark, cold, airless, and chances are he will die long before anyone even thinks to look for him. But the human spirit is strong, even on Mars, and Mark won’t give up easily. This sci-fi novel is funny and smart and full of great science. ~ René


Staff Pick Logo
The Museum of Extraordinary Things Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781451693560
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scribner Book Company - February 18th, 2014

Set in early 20th century New York City, this dazzling novel involves a charlatan who collects human deformities and animal wonders for his Coney Island museum. His daughter, born with webbed hands and incredible swimming skills, is used to attract museum-goers. Far from being a monster, she has a kind, compassionate nature. Fearful of her father and self-conscious of her deformity, she longs for a normal life, especially after falling in love. Between the suspenseful storyline, colorful characters, a magical backdrop, and rich history of New York, this novel ponders what it is that makes us human. It is a gem. ~ Jane


Staff Pick Logo
The Plover Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781250034779
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Thomas Dunne Books - April 8th, 2014

This novel is nothing less than a stubborn, joyful, life-saving journey from the author of the fabulous Mink River. (The protagonist here, Declan, was glimpsed in that novel). I did not want to leave this book at the last page. Magical realism with characters that sing to your heart! ~ Victoria


Staff Pick Logo
The Signature of All Things Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143125846
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Books - June 24th, 2014

Plunging into this ambitious, amazingly researched novel, I was not of this century but part of the great age of discovery and debate. In 1800s America, plain Alma Whittaker becomes a scientist by absorbing vast quantities of knowledge through her father's gardens, greenhouses, and collections of botanical art and scientific journals. She creates a fulfilling career for herself while studying the wonders of life, and her character grows in depth with her profound knowledge. Gilbert touches on the themes of a deeper spirituality and psycho-sexuality, creationism versus evolution, and the revelations of Darwin's Origin of the Species. This is a grand read, an adventure into a more innocent era and a thought-provoking experience that I enjoyed immensely. ~ Julie (Also recommended by Jane)


Staff Pick Logo
Turn Right at Machu Picchu: Rediscovering the Lost City One Step at a Time Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780452297982
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Plume Books - April 24th, 2012

You don't need a ticket to Peru to enjoy this refreshingly candid, humorous yet very informative account of exploration in the land of the Inca. The author, a city creature, keeps us smiling as he struggles in the footsteps of Hiram Bingham, the original “discoverer” of Machu Picchu in 1911. Along the way we get a vivid feel for life on the trail in cloud forest and jungle, along breathtaking peaks and ridges, and among the ruins themselves. Adams leavens the narrative with history, politics, customs and culture, making for a very balanced and fascinating introduction to this magical part of the world. ~ John


Staff Pick Logo
What If?: Serious Scientific Answers to Absurd Hypothetical Questions Cover Image
$24.00
ISBN: 9780544272996
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Houghton Mifflin - September 2nd, 2014

This is a book full of scenarios that illustrate science in the best possible way. Munroe picks weird and impractical questions from an assortment of submissions and thinks them through logically, applying science to both informative and hilarious effect. Whether you have an hour or ten minutes, there’s something here to entertain. The science is thorough, the questions absurd, and the stick-figure illustrations whimsical. The combination is absolutely worth picking up. ~ Jo


Staff Pick Logo
Without You, There Is No Us: My Time with the Sons of North Korea's Elite Cover Image
$24.00
ISBN: 9780307720658
Availability: Special Order
Published: Crown Publishing Group (NY) - October 14th, 2014

This book recounts the six months in 2011 when the author, a journalist masquerading as a missionary, was employed as an English teacher to 270 privileged young men at Pyongyang University of Science and Technology in North Korea. Each day she was exposed to the unceasing propaganda of Kim Il-sung and Kim Jong-il’s miraculous accomplishments, which her students believed without question. She learned to love these students, but the ease with which they were able to distort the truth and glibly lie, plus their stubborn opposition to new ideas, became suffocating after a while. While this is a fascinating account, it makes one despair that change is possible in North Korea. ~ Ann