Dove Arising (Hardcover)

Dove Arising Cover Image
$17.99
Special Order

Description


Fans of Ender's Game and The Maze Runner will love this smart sci-fi debut and its sequel, Dove Exiled
Phaet Theta has lived her whole life in a colony on the Moon. She's barely spoken since her father died in an accident nine years ago. She cultivates the plants in Greenhouse 22, lets her best friend talk for her, and stays off the government's radar.
Then her mother is arrested.
The only way to save her younger siblings from the degrading Shelter is by enlisting in the Militia, the faceless army that polices the Lunar bases and protects them from attacks by desperate Earth dwellers. Training is brutal, but it's where Phaet forms an uneasy but meaningful alliance with the preternaturally accomplished Wes, a fellow outsider.
Rank high, save her siblings, free her mom: that's the plan. Until Phaet's logically ordered world begins to crumble...
Suspenseful, intelligent, and hauntingly prescient, Dove Arising stands on the shoulders of our greatest tales of the future to tell a story that is all too relevant today.

About the Author


Karen Bao is a writer, musician, and aspiring ecologist. She's three years older than her brother and sixty years younger than her violin. Born in California and raised in New Jersey, she currently studies environmental biology at college in New York City. Karen began writing Dove Arising at the age of seventeen. Visit her at karenbaobooks.com.

Praise For…


“Karen Bao is an incredibly talented young writer. Beautiful prose and one of the most interesting main characters I've read. Dove Arising marks the debut of a promising new talent. I loved the story, and I can't wait to read more!” —Christopher Paolini, New York Times bestselling author of Eragon

Product Details
ISBN: 9780451469014
ISBN-10: 0451469011
Publisher: Viking Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: February 24th, 2015
Pages: 336
Language: English
Series: Dove Chronicles