Speculative Fiction Book Group

Inspired by discussions held in the SFWC (Speculative Fiction Writing Cooperative), a book group focusing on works of Speculative (and Science) Fiction has been born. We convene on the 1st Tuesday of every month at 7:00 pm, like our other in-store book groups, newcomers & drop-ins are always welcome.
 

 

The City of Brass: A Novel (The Daevabad Trilogy) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062678119
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper Voyager - July 3rd, 2018

DISCUSSION DATE: 4/6/2021

Brief Discussion:

Nahri has never believed in magic. Certainly, she has power; on the streets of eighteenth-century Cairo, she's a con woman of unsurpassed talent. But she knows better than anyone that the trades she uses to get by--palm readings, zars, and a mysterious gift for healing--are all tricks, both the means to the delightful end of swindling Ottoman nobles and a reliable way to survive.

But when Nahri accidentally summons Dara, an equally sly, darkly mysterious djinn warrior, to her side during one of her cons, she's forced to reconsider her beliefs. For Dara tells Nahri an extraordinary tale: across hot, windswept sands teeming with creatures of fire and rivers where the mythical marid sleep, past ruins of once-magnificent human metropolises and mountains where the circling birds of prey are more than what they seem, lies Daevabad, the legendary city of brass--a city to which Nahri is irrevocably bound.

In Daevabad, within gilded brass walls laced with enchantments and behind the six gates of the six djinn tribes, old resentments run deep. And when Nahri decides to enter this world, her arrival threatens to ignite a war that has been simmering for centuries.

Spurning Dara's warning of the treachery surrounding her, she embarks on a hesitant friendship with Alizayd, an idealistic prince who dreams of revolutionizing his father's corrupt regime. All too soon, Nahri learns that true power is fierce and brutal. That magic cannot shield her from the dangerous web of court politics. That even the cleverest of schemes can have deadly consequences.

After all, there is a reason they say to be careful what you wish for . . .


Staff Pick Badge
Vagabonds Cover Image
By Hao Jingfang, Ken Liu (Translated by)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534422094
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Gallery / Saga Press - March 2nd, 2021

DISCUSSION DATE: 5/4/2021

Brief Description:

"A century after the Martian war of independence, a group of kids are sent to Earth as delegates from Mars, but when they return home, they are caught between the two worlds, unable to reconcile the beauty and culture of Mars with their experiences on Earth in this spellbinding novel from Hugo Award-winning author Hao Jingfang. This genre-bending novel is set on Earth in the wake of a second civil war...not between two factions in one nation, but two factions in one solar system: Mars and Earth. In an attempt to repair increasing tensions, the colonies of Mars send a group of young people to live on Earth to help reconcile humanity. But the group finds itself with no real home, no friends, and fractured allegiances as they struggle to find a sense of community and identity, trapped between two worlds. Fans of Kazuo Ishiguro's Never Let Me Go and Naomi Alderman's The Power will fall in love with this novel about lost innocence, an uncertain future, and never feeling at home, no matter where you are in the universe. Translated by Ken Liu, bestselling author of The Paper Menagerie and translator of Cixin Liu's The Three-Body Problem, Vagabonds is the first novel from Hao Jingfang, the first Chinese woman to ever win the esteemed Hugo Award"


Staff Pick Badge
Network Effect: A Murderbot Novel (The Murderbot Diaries #5) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250229854
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Tordotcom - March 30th, 2021

DISCUSSION DATE: 6/1/2021

Network Effect, the first full-length novel in Martha Wells's New York Times and USA Today bestselling Murderbot Diaries series.

Named a Best of 2020 Pick for NPR Book Riot Polygon