Blue Monday: A Frieda Klein Mystery (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
Blue Monday: A Frieda Klein Mystery Cover Image
$16.00
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


Author collaborations writing as one voice can be tricky, but husband and wife team Nicci Gerard and Sean French have done it for over a decade. Blue Monday is the first of their Frieda Klein mystery series and after reading it I immediately reached for #2 Tuesday’s GoneBlue Monday begins with a 1987 unsolved kidnapping and fast-forwards to 2009 when psychotherapist Frieda Klein takes on a new patient, a middle-aged man who was abandoned as a newborn and is suffering panic attacks and an obsession to have a son. From this point authors French carefully construct the London setting and the characters of Dr. Klein and DCI Karlsson, who become increasingly more complex as the books progress, and reel out a thought-provoking psychological thriller. This is a series well worth your time! ~ Susan

— From Staff Favorites 2019

Description


The first book in the Frieda Klein Mystery series

“Complex psychological suspense at its best.” Booklist (starred review)

Immensely intelligent and poignantly human, Frieda Klein has captivated book critics and crime readers everywhere with her debut outing as Blue Monday's iconoclastic heroine. A psychotherapist and insomniac who spends her nights walking along the ancient rivers that lie beneath modern London, Frieda stars in a dazzling new crime series in which the terrors of the mind spill over into real life.

When five-year-old Matthew Farraday is abducted, Frieda cannot ignore the fact that his photograph perfectly matches the boy one of her patients describes from his fantasies. Before long, Frieda finds herself serving as the reluctant sidekick of Detective Chief Inspector Karlsson at the center of a desperate race to find the kidnapper. Blue Monday is an atmospheric, stunning first novel in a crime series for fans of In Treatment and The Killing.


About the Author


Nicci French is the pseudonym for the internationally bestselling writing partnership of suspense writers Nicci Gerrard and Sean French. They are married and live in Suffolk and London, England.

Praise For…


Praise for BLUE MONDAY:

“Fast-paced and spooky…it leaves readers with the promise of intriguing tales to come.”
People (****)

“A neat puzzle with a satisfying resolution and a terrific twist at the end.”
The New York Times Book Review

“[A] superb psychological thriller . . . With its brooding atmosphere, sustained suspense, last-minute plot twist, and memorable cast of characters, this series debut will leave readers eager to discover what color Tuesday will be.”
Publishers Weekly, starred review

“With its smart plot, crisp prose, and a stunning final twist, this is psychological suspense at its best. Absolutely riveting.”
Booklist, starred review

“This is psychological suspense done right. The authors pace themselves and build the tension slowly while carefully developing each of the players. For fans of Tana French’s and Lisa Gardner’s moody, dark, twisty thrillers.”
Library Journal

“Complex and flawed, Frieda Klein is a refreshingly human protagonist, an intriguing debut for a truly unique character.”
Tami Hoag, bestselling author of Down the Darkest Road

“A searing psychological thriller in the rich vein of Kate Atkinson and Laura Lippman, Blue Monday is powerful and gripping—a page-turner with heart and soul.  Psychotherapist Frieda Klein is an enormously appealing new series hero.”
Joseph Finder, bestselling author of Buried Secrets

“Unrelenting . . . unnerving . . .  unforgettable. Psychological dynamite.”
Alan Bradley, bestselling author of The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie

“Nicci French creates a haunting and complex psychological puzzle about memory and heredity, with enough twists and turns to keep you guessing until the very end.  This gripping thriller certainly bodes well for the future of the series and I look forward to reading more about unlikely heroine Frieda Klein.”
Camilla Läckberg, bestselling author of The Ice Princess

“A fabulous, unsettling, and riveting look at motives and memory and relationships. And what drives people to do the unthinkable.”
Louise Penny, bestselling author of A Trick of the Light

“Nicci French is undeniably at the top of British psychological suspense writing.”
The Observer (UK)

Praise for TUESDAY'S GONE:

"Seamlessly mixes a foreboding tone and deliberate pacing with deft plot twists that should leave readers pleasantly chilled to the bone."
Publishers Weekly

"Starts as a grim psychological thriller in the vein of Dennis Lehane’s darker novels and turns into a fascinating puzzle in which character analysis holds sway. Highly recommended for fans of psychological suspense who enjoy a complex protagonist."
Library Journal (starred review)

"The plotting is fast-paced with surprises galore, and characters literally come to life on the pages. . . . When readers are through, they will find themselves waiting impatiently for Wednesday to arrive!"
Suspense Magazine
Product Details
ISBN: 9780143122722
ISBN-10: 014312272X
Publisher: Penguin Books
Publication Date: March 5th, 2013
Pages: 352
Language: English
Series: A Frieda Klein Mystery