The Murder Code: A Novel (Paperback)

The Murder Code: A Novel Cover Image
$14.95
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


The American debut of CWA Dagger winner Steve Mosby, who delivers a riveting psychological crime novel in the vein of Ian Rankin and Denise Mina.


Detective Inspector Andrew Hicks thinks he knows all about murder. However horrific the act, the reasons behind a crime are usually easy to explain. So when a woman is found bludgeoned to death, he suspects a crime of passion and attention focuses on her possessive ex-husband. But when a second body is found, similarly beaten, Hicks is forced to think again.



When more murders arrive in quick succession, Hicks realizes he is dealing with a type of killer he has never faced before, one who fits nowhere within his logic. Then the letters begin to arrive. . . .



As the death toll rises, Hicks must face not only a killer obsessed with randomness and chaos, but also a secret in his own past. If he is to stop the killings, he must confront the truth about himself.

About the Author


Steve Mosby is the author of three previous novels, The Murder Code, The Nightmare Place, and The Reckoning on Cane Hill, all available from Pegasus Crime. His novels have been translated into nine languages around the world and have landed in the top ten on bestseller lists in France, Germany, and Holland. He lives in England.

Praise For…


Mosby spares no graphic detail in building tension and terror. a crackling good tale.

Ingeniously plotted. ... Mosby’s strong characters, stunning plot twists, and overall assurance leave a powerful impression.

Steve Mosby has become one of a handful of writers who make me excited about crime fiction.
— Val McDermid

Satisfying reading for those who favor character-driven crime fiction.

Not for the faint of heart or stomach, but for the rest of you, The Murder Code heralds the American debut of a major new voice in crime fiction.


He writes like the very best American thriller writers. Cancel all other engagements for the day.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781605986241
ISBN-10: 1605986240
Publisher: Pegasus Books
Publication Date: October 15th, 2014
Pages: 368
Language: English