Learning to Talk to Plants (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
Learning to Talk to Plants Cover Image
By Marta Orriols, Mara Faye Lethem (Translated by)
$16.95
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


Paula received a double blow when the love of her life, Mauro let her know that he was leaving her for another woman, and then he died suddenly just hours later. The grief, despair, and confusion was palpable in Orriols's lyrical prose. Paula’s career as an accomplished pediatrician with neonatal patients becomes all-consuming, while her friends and family try to help her navigate the dark days without knowing the whole story of Mauro’s deceit. The deft writing and empathetic characters elevated this novel from becoming morose. Indeed, this beautiful meditation on grief, betrayal, and starting over was hard to put down. ~ Jane

— From Jane

Description


"Between rage and sadness, Orriols presents a journey towards maturity in a story full of hilarious moments and tenderness." --Diari Ara
 
An immersive, moving novel about complex grief: a woman attempts to rebuild her life after her boyfriend leaves her for another woman, then dies hours later--perfect for fans of Cheryl Strayed


Paula's partner has died in a car accident - but no one knows her true grief. Only hours before his death, Mauro revealed that he was leaving her for another woman.

Paula guards this secret and ploughs on with her job as a paediatrician in Barcelona, trying to maintain the outline of their old life. But all of Mauro's plants are dying, the fridge only contains expired yoghurt and her mind feverishly obsesses over this other, unknown woman.

As the weeks pass, vitality returns to Paula in unexpected ways. She remembers, slowly, how to live. By turns devastating and darkly funny, Learning to Talk to Plants is a piercingly honest portrayal of grief - and of the many ways to lose someone.

About the Author


Marta Orriols is a Spanish writer living in Barcelona. She studied History of Art at university and later Screenwriting at the Bande à Part Film School in Barcelona and Creative Writing at the Escuela de Escritura del Ateneu Barcelonés. Her first novel, Learning to Talk to Plants, won the Omnium Cultural Prize for the best Catalan novel.

Praise For…


"Marta Orriols debuts with a brilliant novel" -- Time Out

"Marta Orriols is an exceptional writer" -- El Periódico

"Marta Orriols has the ability to put into words the brevity and the unforeseen circumstances of everyday life" -- El País

"A beautifully written novel about complex grief and a woman’s attempt to rebuild her life after the sudden death of her long-time partner… a small but rich and profound story, and I would strongly recommend it for anyone who loves beautiful writing and a very introspective, revealing story." --Lily Bartels of The Open Door Bookstore on Northeast Public Radio
Product Details
ISBN: 9781782275770
ISBN-10: 1782275770
Publisher: Pushkin Press
Publication Date: June 15th, 2021
Pages: 256
Language: English