Cheer Up, Mr. Widdicombe, with Evan James

We are thrilled to welcome native Bainbridge Islander Evan James to the bookstore on Thursday, April 4 at 7pm as he discusses his new novel, Cheer Up, Mr. Widdicombe. The novel is set during a single summer on Bainbridge Island. The island features heavily in the book, almost as a character itself.

The inimitable—some might say incorrigible—Frank Widdicombe is suffering from a deep depression. Or so his wife, Carol, believes. But Carol is convinced that their new island home—
Willowbrook Manor on the Puget Sound—is just the thing to cheer her husband up. And so begins a whirlwind summer as their house becomes the epicenter of multiple social dramas involving the family, their friends, and a host of new acquaintances.

Written in a singularly witty and satirical style, Cheer Up, Mr. Widdicombe is perfect for fans of Maria Semple’s Where’d You Go, Bernadette?, Andrew Sean Greer’s Less, and Jess Walter’s Beautiful Ruins.

Author Bio:

Evan James is an award-winning writer whose personal essays and fiction have appeared in such publications as the Oxford American,Travel + Leisure, and The New York Times, among others. He received an MFA in Fiction from the Iowa Writers’ Workshop and has received fellowships from Yaddo, Virginia Center for the Creative Arts, The Carson McCullers Center, The Elizabeth Kostova Foundation, The University of Iowa, and the Lambda Literary Writers’ Retreat, where he was a 2017 Emerging LGBTQ Voices Fellow. He has taught at The University of Iowa, The Iowa Young Writers’ Studio, and Victoria University of Wellington in New Zealand. Born in Seattle, he now lives in New York and teaches creative writing and English at Pierrepont School in Westport, Connecticut.
 

Event date: 
Thursday, April 4, 2019 - 7:00pm to 8:00pm
Event address: 
Cheer Up, Mr. Widdicombe: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781501199615
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atria Books - March 26th, 2019