Hurricane Lizards and Plastic Squid, with Thor Hanson

Join us for an in-person event with one of our favorite regional authors, conservation biologist Thor Hanson. He will be discussing his new book, Hurricane Lizards and Plastic Squid: The Fraught and Fascinating Biology of Climate Change, Thursday, Oct. 7, at 7pm. This remarkable and spellbinding book on the effects of climate change once again bears all the hallmarks of a classic Hanson book: meticulous, scientific, and accessible, told like a fascinating story over dinner with friends.

This in-store event will be limited to 40 guests; you can RSVP below. We take the well-being of our customers and staff seriously, and ask that all guests are vaccinated or recently tested for Covid. Masks are required in our store at all times. Customers who cannot attend but would like an autographed book can preorder and we will have your book signed or inscribed.

Hanson details how plants and animals are responding to climate change: adjusting, evolving, and sometimes dying out. Anole lizards grow larger toe pads, to grip more tightly in frequent hurricanes. Warm waters cause the development of Humboldt squid to alter so dramatically that fishermen mistake them for different species. Brown pelicans move north, and long-spined sea urchins south, to find cooler homes. And when coral reefs sicken, they leave no territory worth fighting for, so aggressive butterfly fish transform instantly into pacifists.

This is a story of hope, resilience, and risk  for readers of Bernd Heinrich, Robin Wall Kimmerer, and David Haskell. It is also a reminder of how unpredictable climate change is as it interacts with the messy lattice of life,

"Thor Hanson's clear-eyed science writing meets its best topic yet in this book. While governments and publics joust over climate change, biologists studying all the ways wild animals are already responding to it are five steps ahead of the game. Hanson takes his readers on a tour of this cutting edge in our rapidly-changing world. Yes, there are looming extinctions. But before you wring your hands in despair, read this book. As it always has, life finds a way."-- Dan Flores, New York Times bestselling author of Coyote America
______
 
Thor Hanson is a conservation biologist, Guggenheim Fellow, and author of award winning books including Buzz, Feathers, The Impenetrable Forest, and The Triumph of Seeds. He lives with his wife and son on an island in Washington State.
Event date: 
Thursday, October 7, 2021 - 7:00pm to 8:30pm
Event address: 
Hurricane Lizards and Plastic Squid: The Fraught and Fascinating Biology of Climate Change Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781541672420
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Basic Books - September 28th, 2021

Staff Pick Badge
Buzz: The Nature and Necessity of Bees Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781541699533
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Basic Books - September 3rd, 2019

The Triumph of Seeds: How Grains, Nuts, Kernels, Pulses, and Pips Conquered the Plant Kingdom and Shaped Human History Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780465097401
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Basic Books - March 8th, 2016

Staff Pick Badge
Feathers: The Evolution of a Natural Miracle Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780465028788
Availability: Special Order - Unavailable
Published: Basic Books - July 31st, 2012

RSVP Form: