Megan

Megan is thrilled to be living out her childhood dream of working at EHBC. She is a proud graduate of Whitman College, managing to come out alive with a major in French, a minor in Biology and a deep respect for the rigors of organic chemistry. She's enjoying being back home in the Pacific Northwest, after spending the past few years teaching English abroad in Riga, Latvia and most recently Cherbourg, France. While she's passionate about many things, she especially enjoys a good historical adventure, chocolate and improv.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Staff Pick Badge
Just Like That Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780544084773
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Clarion Books - January 5th, 2021

A heartfelt story with plenty of suspense, Just Like That was one of the best middle grade books I’ve read in a while. What charmed me was the way the author entwined both Meryl Lee and Matt’s stories together, leaving space for the grief, loss, and heartache they both endure as well as the joy and hope they find along the way. Recommended for 8th grade and up (gang violence). ~ Megan


Staff Pick Badge
The House in the Cerulean Sea Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250217318
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Tor Books - December 29th, 2020

A customer told me this book was “like a warm hug,” and I discovered it was exactly that! Klune’s quirky characters and descriptions are reminiscent of a mix of JK Rowling, Lemony Snicket and Terry Pratchett’s imaginative writing styles. With a knack for absurdly funny dialogue (my favorite character was by far the one who may or may not be the anti-Christ), Klune creates a cast of misfits who charm the reader from the beginning. An advocate for positive LGBT representation, the author gently invites us to see that love can exist in many places, and that a home can be found even where you least expect it. ~ Megan


Staff Pick Badge
Sitting Pretty: The View from My Ordinary Resilient Disabled Body Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9780062936790
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperOne - August 25th, 2020

This was one of my top reads of the year simply because of its bold authenticity. Taussig writes about her experience as a disabled woman with piercing eloquence and plenty of witty candor. Part memoir, part call-to-action, this book will speak truth to anyone who has ever been sent to the margins. It also gave me a moment to pause and reflect on how we can move towards a society that is accessible to all bodies, differences and all. ~ Megan


Staff Pick Badge
 A Tree Grows in Brooklyn [75th Anniversary Ed] Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780060736262
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper Perennial Modern Classics - November 6th, 2018

This novel is one of the hidden gems you'll find nestled in our Classics section, waiting patiently for the right reader. It tells the story of little Francie Nolan’s struggle to survive when the odds are stacked against her, and because it’s one of the best coming-of-age books I’ve ever read, I decided it deserved some time in the spotlight. Why, you ask? The original 1943 New York Times review sums it up better than I ever could: “If you miss A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, you will deny yourself a rich experience, many hours of delightful entertainment (for it is long) and the pleasant tingle that comes from a sense of discovery, the discovery of a fresh, original and finished talent … a profoundly moving novel, and an honest and true one. It cuts right to the heart of life.” Don’t miss it! 


Staff Pick Badge
The Woman Who Smashed Codes: A True Story of Love, Spies, and the Unlikely Heroine Who Outwitted America's Enemies Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062430519
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dey Street Books - August 28th, 2018

I cannot stop talking about this book! If you like historical accounts with adventure, don’t miss it. Elizebeth Friedman may not be a household name—her work was classified until recently—but she played a critical role as a code breaker during WWII, without getting much of the credit. What made this book one of the most fascinating I’ve read is the second part, in which Fagone describes the historical goose chase he undertook as he went from discovering Friedman’s story, to telling the world about it. If you have any interest in history, code breaking, or simply the thrill of discovery, this book is for you!


Staff Pick Badge
Love Does: Discover a Secretly Incredible Life in an Ordinary World Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781400203758
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Thomas Nelson - April 30th, 2012

This is a book I’d heard about for a long time, strongly recommended by friends. Well, I finally read it, and wow, it was fun! Bob Goff is a natural storyteller, and a deep believer in the power of love to move people to go out and do things. Written from a Christian perspective, this book is perfect for fans of C.S. Lewis, Mark Batterson and Anne Lamott. And while I may not become the Ugandan consul (read the book, it'll make sense), it definitely inspires me to love deeper. ~ Megan


Staff Pick Badge
Baking: From My Home to Yours Cover Image
$40.00
ISBN: 9780618443369
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Rux Martin/Houghton Mifflin Harcourt - November 1st, 2006

Three words: World Peace Cookies. These chocolate cookies are dark and wickedly delicious, and have convinced fans around the world that if we could bake enough for everyone, we could guarantee eternal world peace. You'll find this recipe, and other treasures in this easy-to-follow tome of baking glory. My family loves the Pecan Honey Sticky Buns, Devil's Food White-Out Cake, and Golden Brioche Loaves. And who knows? Maybe all together we can bake up some world peace, too! 


Staff Pick Badge
The Day the World Came to Town: 9/11 in Gander, Newfoundland Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780060559717
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - August 14th, 2003

This book was so good that I tore through it in less than a day. And I'm a slow reader! In the aftermath of September 11th, 38 flights were grounded in the tiny town of Gander, Newfoundland. Defede tells the story of those passengers (including the chairman of Hugo Boss and members of a Beatles tribute band, among others) and the people of Gander who welcomed them. Reading this book during such a difficult year made me reflect upon how meaningful community and care for others can be, whether in the aftermath of 9/11 or during a global pandemic. Also, I learned how to correctly pronounce “Newfoundland,” so that was a small victory. ~ Megan